Mind-states and Jiu-Jitsu

A bad habit I’ve noticed in my game is trying to beat some one to a position, the unsaid message being that I’m in a race and behind.

I can usually win such races because of an experience advantage, but it’s not the intellegent thing to do.  I’m trying, reacting, powering, speeding, and doing all things non-flowing.

The zen thing of course would be to accept and use as energy as it’s presented in real-time.

I think this is a very tough thing to accomplish if you aren’t in a neutral space mentally.

 

2 Responses to “Mind-states and Jiu-Jitsu”

  1. Travis Millar Says:

    Talk to me in 10 years or so, maybe it’ll all make sense by then :). Nice film… gotta appreciate “the okidoke”– bumped his head like a loaf o’ wonder bread!

  2. jeffwassom Says:

    Trav all you have to do is remember to breathe, let go, and re-set when you catch yourself uneccessarily anticipating. Also, I think there are just some battles your going to lose because there are two people grappling. It’s all good my friend. =)

Leave a comment